The History of Big Alum Lake
|In 1896 or 1897, there were two little plain-board shacks in the midst
of a grove on Big Alum's west shore. In the early 1900's Samuel Bemis
built his first real cottage close to the dam and gatehouse through which
the Pond emptied. There was a little beach at this spot and Grandpa
Bemis let the Baptists use it for their fresh water immersions. (Dr.
Samuel Bemis) A few years later, he added the Middle Cottage and the
East Cottage about a hundred yards apart with the intent of renting them
out to summer visitors who came by horse and buggy from Southbridge, Worcester
A "Clam Bake Party" at Big Alum Pond, July 25, 1897!